Valentine Wreaths with a New Twist

Now that our front door has a fresh coat of paint, it’s time to give it a pretty wreath. But I’ve been baffled on how to proceed.  The giant oval window makes a normal circular wreath look puny.   So I’ve been spending some time on Pinterest lately (known as The Devil’s Playground to the menfolk of this house!)  I got inspired.  And so I spent a happy afternoon concocting not one, but THREE wreaths for Valentines Day.turquoise frame wreath with tin heart basket and burlap from chalk hill houseI picked up this sweet tin heart basket in a garage sale last September thinking I’d hang it on our Christmas tree.  Somehow I never got around to trying it out.  So instead, it’s the centerpiece of this think-inside-the-box wreath.

burlap roses and burlap love bunting on rectangle frame valentines wreath from chalk hill houseThere’s plenty of burlap, velvet and buttons–you can tell I had lots of fun with this one!  One of the teenagers grudgingly allowed me to snap a picture of it on his bedroom door before he demanded its removal.  Despite all my efforts, it just wasn’t right for the grand entrance.

rectangle frame door wreath with burlap ribbon and yellow spring flowers chalk hill houseBut I LOVE how this one looks on our front door–stunning is the only word I can think of.  That oversized gilt frame is just what the door needs.chalk hill house heart wreath fresh rosemary valentines fresh rosemary heart wreath with burlap rose by chalk hill houseAnd this simple little one I fashioned from a coat hanger and fresh rosemary growing in the garden.  It’s hanging on a mirror in our entry hall and filling the air with its fragrance.

