Cobalt Blue

School is just around the corner, so I’m checking off the summer to-do list as fast as I can.

IMG_1390

Call me predictable if you will, but when we bought a house with white brick, I just KNEW it needed blue trim.  Cobalt blue, to be exact.

The house looked fine before, if you like green…

IMG_2475

But ever since my childhood when my elementary school uniform was dark green, I’ve avoided it.

 IMG_1383

This kind of green reminds me of spelling tests and playground bullies.  No more needs to be said.

I started the work yesterday morning, but gave up when the heat got to my head.  Last night, in a stroke of genius, I bought a small sample pot of paint.  I carefully selected a color as close to our white bricks as possible.  It was just in case…

IMG_1391

Shh…don’t tell my hubby.  He thinks I’m a neat painter.  And I usually am…except in 101 degrees with a wasp chasing me.  That little pot of brick-colored paint will keep my pristine reputation intact.

IMG_1389

And with the first days of school fast approaching, I’ve one more summer-to-do project checked off, and no unwanted elementary school reminders lurking out my front door.

