Tree of Blessing

We have a beautiful, mature crepe myrtle on Chalk Hill.  It welcomed us in 2011 when we purchased the property with a dazzling display of flaming autumn finery.

IMG_2383

And this summer, it is dazzling us again with elegant, soft sprays of pink.

IMG_2968

It reminds me of a tree my parents planted the year my daddy walked me down the aisle. It was a commemoration of sorts.

I love to commemorate momentous occasions with a symbolic planting.  That first Christmas on Chalk Hill, we were so busy (and overwhelmed) with the upheaval of renovations and relocation.  I dashed out a week before Christmas and bought a rosemary bush to serve for our tree.  The boys decorated it creatively with scraps and cast-offs from our labors.  And we planted it before the turn of the year.

IMG_2474

It’s grown into a beauty–losing it’s perfect conical Christmas shape.  And we’ll use sprigs from it for decor as part of this summer’s wedding festivities for my niece and namesake. (I’ll post pictures of that to be sure!)

IMG_2971

I wonder if something will be planted to mark that wedding.  Something to grow, bloom, and bless others as their marriage does the same.

